Honesty by Seth King Review

Honesty Book Cover Honesty
Seth King
Coming of Age/Romance
March 1, 2016
Ebook
302
Author

A radiant story of first love and self-acceptance for fans of John Green, Jandy Nelson, and Rainbow Rowell

“Maybe we weren’t meant to collide. Maybe we were meant to explode.”

As a closeted teenager in the Deep South with a holy-roller father and the scars to prove it, bookworm Cole Furman has resigned himself to experiencing life and love only within the pages of his favorite novels. But after Nick Flores seems to walk off a page and starts to rewrite his story, Cole finds his dreams spinning into a dazzling – and complicated – reality.

If you have ever found yourself on the wild breathless thriller ride that is young love, Honesty will rip you back again in screaming color.

Review (10)

I can say with complete honesty, that I didn’t know what to expect with this book. I didn’t have a blurb to read, I didn’t have any clue what it was about, and to top it off I have never read anything by Seth King. I met him last year at an author event, and he sold out before I even had a chance to grab a copy of one of his books. Now I know why.

This book is something different. I was a little caught off guard within the first few pages. I was expecting the average beautiful couple walking off in the sunset type of romance, but I was presently surprised. It was just two people falling in love. The fact those two individuals happened to be male didn’t matter. It was real, and it was heartbreaking. It was one of the most honest ‘romances’ I have read, and I feel almost dirty calling it that. I’m not sure it was even a romance; it was like I was peeking into someone’s heartbreak with every turn of the page. Nick and Cole were a tornado of emotion, and they were real. Their story wasn’t some beautiful romance novel; it was broken and begging to be read. To know the novel is based on the Author’s first love makes it so much harder to bear. My heart was ripped out multiple times just reading it; I couldn’t imagine living it.

Even now, I’m having an issue writing this review without tearing up. Honesty was everything I didn’t know I was looking for in a book. I can only hope his other books are half as magnificent as this one because I plan to read them all. I am so happy I was lucky enough to get an ARC, and I cannot wait to make my friends read this book

Alisha
Owner/Blogger
I’m a geek blogger, mom, a wife, and a reader. My family and I are currently living in the beautiful state of Colorado. I started my blog after I landed myself in the hospital for multiple pulmonary embolisms. It took over a year to diagnose me with lupus among other things. It’s been a long journey but I wouldn’t change it for the world. I read all genres and I write about anything I feel like; From my issues with Lupus/RA/pulmonary embolisms to what is going on in the book world. Every day is a new adventure!
Alisha on FacebookAlisha on InstagramAlisha on Twitter

2 thoughts on “Honesty by Seth King Review

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *